The TechEDGE Dinner and Awards Banquet hosted by Lynchburg Regional Technology Council and was held on October 13 at the Academy Center of the Arts. The night featured guest speaker David Ihrie, CTO, with Center of Innovative Technology (CIT).  He spoke on “Revving the Innovative Engine” and special guest Delegate Kathy Byron. The event included a silent auction with proceeds benefiting STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) initiatives and the Future Focus Foundation. CIT was this year’s presenting sponsor.

The Innovator of the Year is an individual or business that has developed an innovative process, product, service, or initiative went to LiteSheet. They use cutting-edge lighting technology to deliver sustainable, cost-effective lighting solutions to their customers.

The Entrepreneur of the Year is an indentrepreneur-of-the-year-benjamin-manley-knapsack-creativefbividual award recognizing exceptional development of a technology-centric commercial enterprise. Benjamin Manley, Knapsack Creative was the Entrepreneur of the Year. The company  assist small organizations and startups throughout the U.S. in creating websites.

The STEM Educator of the stem-educator-anne-barrowfb2Year was an individual award given to the K-12 educator who is a champion of STEM learning in formal and/or non-formal learning environments. Anne Barrow, a Gifted Resource Teacher at Boonsboro and Big Island Elementary Schools in Bedford County received the honor.

The Technology Company of the Year is a cortechnology-of-the-year-amtifbporate award focused on recognizing a regional technology pillar of the community and was awarded to AMTI.  The company technology innovators a breadth of advanced electronics manufacturing and business support services.

A Special Recognition Entrepreneur certificate was given to True Dimension Education. True Dimension Education developed software to use predictive analytics to forecast a student’s course performance.  Owners of True Dimension Education are Will Nathan Simpson, Nicholas Walton, Geoffrey Zdgiebloski and Brian Rubio.

Congratulations to these individuals and organizations who were recipients at the 2016 TECH EDGE Awards.






%d bloggers like this: